Skip to content

Test is dead

November 30, 2011

So I spent yesterday at the University, busily pursuing my degree in Computer Science… Yay for me.

No tester I respect has ever said anything good about university degrees in relation to building you testing career;

edit:  In the spirit of admitting my mistakes, here is what I meant to say:

A lot of testers I respect seem to think that CERTAIN universities to not have a lot to teach with regard to software testing OR even software development in general

…but that is a topic for a different day.

When I finally got back to work, it was too late however. Turns out…

Test is dead.

http://googletesting.blogspot.com/search/label/test%20is%20dead

Especially in relation to this:

Can’t seem to find the corresponding Whittaker article though. Might be he just like… said it “said it”, as opposed to blogged it and shouted it from the rooftops “said it”.

Also found the Test is Dead talk:

I will keep pursuing this topic.

2 Comments
  1. Cem Kaner permalink

    When you say “No tester I respect has ever said anything good about university degrees in relation to building your software testing career”, perhaps you are listening to too narrow a group of people.

    Whittaker certainly believed (and I think he still believes) that a strong university background in software engineering is of great value for a testing career. He and I (and others here) designed a curriculum at Florida Tech that is specifically designed to support an interest in software testing. The materials at http://www.testingeducation.org/BBST were all developed at university, for university students, with university-research funding from the National Science Foundation.

    Several other universities offer interesting courses in software testing. For example, Arizona State and Portland State. And many universities offer very strong courses in areas related to testing

    • I guess I should not have said what I said without further explanation.

      Also, that “no tester I respect” should have never been written.

      Let me say that I have great respect for your work and that I have heard really good things about the curriculum at Florida Tech.

      What I actually meant to say is that “A lot of testers I DO respect seem to think that CERTAIN universities to not have a lot to teach with regard to software testing OR even software development in general”.

      My own experience is that quite often the things that are taught do not really relate to what is actually required of me in everyday field work (AND that there are things that ARE required in everyday field work that are not taught at all). I am talking about my own university here, and I have heard others talk in that manner about their experiences. The question is then whether it would not be better to focus on learning to test (or code, or be a team leader etc.) on your own, rather than to spend five years learning general Computer Science, even though you do not intend to become an academic.

Leave a Reply

