Skip to content

People don’t read anymore

December 7, 2011

People don’t read anymore. I keep hearing this.

I think it’s bullshit. We read all the time. I THINK we read more on average than any generation before us. It’s just that we don’t read BOOKS cover to cover. We read snippets. Shot opinions. Emails. Tweets. Parts of documents. Subtitles. Headlines. Never a book.. almost never.

So here’s my attempt at a proof of concept:

Starting now, I shall put all the text I read into one single file and pull some statistics later on. This will be a 24 hour project.

EDIT: result was ~100.000 characters. Guessing roughly 80 pages of an average book.

From → Improvised Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

